Charles University


Charles University (CU) belongs among the oldest and largest universities in the world. It was founded in 1348 by the Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV as the first university to the north of the Alps and to the east of Paris. The University originally consisted of four faculties: Faculty of theology, of arts, of law, and of medicine. It is the oldest and also the largest university in the Czech Republic.

Charles University is one of the world's top universities, a fact that has been confirmed repeatedly by the international university rankings. It is No. 1 in the Czech Republic according to The Academic Ranking of World Universities.

Today Charles University has 17 faculties in 3 different cities (14 faculties are located in Prague, 2 in Hradec Králové and 1 in Plzeň).

CU has 3 university institutes, 6 further centres for educational, scientific, research, development and other activities or for provision of information services and 5 university-wide special facilities and the Rectorate as the administrative centre of the whole university. The Faculty of Social Sciences is the second youngest faculty, founded in 1990.

There are over 300 accredited degree programmes and 660 study disciplines. Charles University covers the full spectrum of fields – medicine, pharmacy, science, humanities and social sciences, theology and sport at bachelor, master and doctoral levels. Over 150 academic programmes are taught in a foreign language, mainly in English but also in German or French.

The University is dedicated to international cooperation with prestigious educational and research institutions. CU has signed a total of 450 bilateral agreements on the Erasmus programme framework and 190 international partnership agreements with foreign universities. Among Charles University´s partners are top universities form 49 countries ranging from Canada to New Zeland.

For more information about the Charles University please visit the university website in English language.